Integrative Bio-Systems Design.

The Five Phases

The continual pulsing cycle between the polarities of Yin and Yang can be characterised in terms of different phases with specific characteristics.

Khor compares the elemental phases to specific tipping points on a continuum like a sine-wave - a mathematical description of oscillation between two poles. These phases are what is sometimes referred to as the five elements. Each is typically asssociated with an animal and a colour. Commonly, the phases are known as:

Earth / Yellow Snake

The unifying pole around which the oscillation pulses. Represents knowledge, wisdom, integration.

Water / Black Turtle

Yin becomes more Yin (consolidating). Represents the hidden, secret, concealed.

Wood / Green Dragon:

Yin becomes Yang (transforming). Represents the welling-up of energy for growth and development.

Fire / Red Phoenix

Yang becomes more Yang (consolidating). Represents activity, movement, energy reaching the zenith of growth.

Metal / White Tiger

Yang becomes Yin (transforming). This represents harvesting, cleansing, purifying, distilling qualities of the cycle.

Relationships between the Phases - Generative and Destructive Cycles

The elements can be seen as symbols that evoke intuitive understanding of the unique character or flavour of each phase. However, they should not be seen in isolation of each other, as they represent specific aspects of one systemic whole. They are in close relation to each other, which is expressed in terms of generative/stimulating and destructive/inhibiting cycles:

Wood is the source of Fire / Wood controls Earth

Fire is the source of Earth / Fire controls Metal

Earth is the source of Metal / Earth controls Water

Metal is the source of Water / Metal controls Wood

Water is the source of Wood / Water controls Fire

Through chi kung, practitioners begin to gain clearer and more refined experience of the different phases.

Back to Chi Kung

Muti This

  • Share/Save/Bookmark